6 Truths and a Lie

As I was going through (what seemed like) the never-ending archives of this blog in search of a perfectly written writing sample, I realized how much of it is about me. Not just any me, but the me I want all of you to see, the me I think will get me the most readers, the foodie me, and, sometimes, the me I wish I could be.

In all truth, the real me is pretty ordinary. It’s a scary thing for an anorexic to admit their own mundaneness, but it’s true. I don’t climb walls and I don’t live out the prophecies of inspirational chick flick quotes–in fact, I’m lucky if I can muster up enough willpower to step outside my apartment and get some laundry done.

I don’t know when exactly I came up with this superhuman me. ED turned lying into a game and, being overly competitive, I became obsessed with the idea of tricking everyone around me into seeing exactly what I wanted them too. As House says, “everyone lies,” but not everyone lies well. I did. I was (and still am) an expert liar.

But today, I’m going to try to be honest (at least 6/7ths of the time) and tell you more about me with a little game. I’m sure you’ve played it before; it’s the one where you list some truths with a lie thrown in and the other people have to guess which is the lie. For my version, I’ve chosen 6 truths about myself that have absolutely nothing to do with food or eating disorders because, although that’s a big part of who I am, it’s not all of me.

  1. In middle school, my best friend nicknamed my crush “Voldemort,” because, whenever I talked about him, I said “you know who”.
  2. My favorite store is Target with Walmart coming in at a close second.
  3. The first website I ever made was an anime website glorifying characters of a popular anime show.
  4. There is a made-up song about my name, in which everything rhymes with “Mekkie”.
  5. I am deathly afraid of heights.
  6. I don’t know my best friend’s name and never did, because I’ve called her “Cars”.
  7. I tripped at my high school graduation and my diploma flew out of my hands, hitting a teacher before it landed on the stage with a very resounding thud.

Which one do you think is the lie? I’ll post the answer sometime in the near future (depending on how many guesses I have).

What are your 6 Truths and a Lie? Come on….share! See if you can fool us. 😉

4 responses to “6 Truths and a Lie

  1. Emmie March 23, 2011 at 4:31 pm

    anime website… you don’t seem the type. 😛 I like this entry a lot.

  2. Abhilash March 25, 2011 at 6:59 am

    this may be a lie right…

    I tripped at my high school graduation and my diploma flew out of my hands, hitting a teacher before it landed on the stage with a very resounding thud.

    Now my turn

    1. I have always been the brightest student in the university.
    2. I was one of the best creative artists winning one competition, whenever I appeared for it.
    3. I have slapped my friend during the class for a bet I had with another friend.
    4. I have been proposed by girls and even have received love letter. I never entertained anyone but one.
    5. My friends used to call me Einstein.
    6. I was the quickest in the class to learn dates and names.

    Guess which one among the six is a lie…

    • Mekkie March 26, 2011 at 5:20 pm

      Nope! I did trip at my graduation…AFTER my friend wrote a message in my yearbook telling me not to! At least I managed to keep it interesting. 😉

      As for yours, I’m going to go with the one about you slapping your friend, mainly because it’s different from all the others. Tricky though….

Leave a comment