The Pain of Writing a Cover Letter

Yes, it’s true: after months of trying to avoid it, I am beginning to accept the fact that I will never be able to live out the rest of my life without at least trying to pursue a career in food or writing…or, even better, both.

I know that anyone who’s currently maneuvering through the drudgery that defines the life of a student in med school will curse me for saying this, but being a doctor would be so easy. I’m know I’m smart and good at school, always have been. I would do wonderfully in med school, graduate with top honors, be placed in a job upon completion…and spend the rest of my life being a miserable doctor who reads cooking magazines wishing I could write for one.

At least the pay is good, right? But apparently that’s not enough for me. I guess I’m spoiled enough that I require the ever elusive “job satisfaction” to keep me from dreading work every day.

Having accepted this, however begrudgingly, I am now attempting to find an internship at a food magazine. Yes, you heard me: I am accepting that I will not live out every Indian parent’s dream of seeing their kid become a well-established physician or a world-renowned businessperson.

I’ve made a resume (complete with little apples as bullets) but am woefully stuck at the cover letter. How do I explain to a magazine what someone like me–someone with little “official” experience, someone who hates nothing more than the idea of business casual, someone who spends most of her days inside attempting to manipulate chemistry to create a vegan, low-calorie cake in her microwave–could offer them? How do I convince these people that I have enough passion, enough intelligence, to compensate for all of that and more? How am I supposed to show them that my lack of “extracurricular” activities is only because all I want to do is cook–and write–and cook some more? How do I describe the way I look at the world of food and science: cakes as chemical reactions, colors as vitamins, flavorings and seasonings as embodiments of life’s randomness…

HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO MAKE THESE PEOPLE BELIEVE I AM ENOUGH?! I can’t even get the cake to work….

7 responses to “The Pain of Writing a Cover Letter

  1. Emmie February 27, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    Just be yourself Mekkie, you’re unique enough to stand out 😀 p.s. writing for a magazine doesn’t mean the cake has to work. 😀

  2. jord February 27, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    Way to go, Mek. Love ya.

  3. sarah February 27, 2011 at 11:43 pm

    LOL…you can do it..coming from one person who pursued the safe route and is hopelessly miserable and at a loss as to what to do now…follow your dreams…we only have this one life.

    • Mekkie March 2, 2011 at 1:09 am

      Aw, *hug* The straight and narrow has its pluses and minuses. Hang in there, though and remember that your career doesn’t have to be your life!

  4. rajumadhur March 9, 2011 at 3:55 am

    Try and try until u succeed :(… Try and try one day u will definitely succeed 😀 🙂

Leave a Reply

