For the chemists

Although I do like to think of myself as somewhat of a food chemist, I recognize the fact I am nowhere close. While I know why baking soda makes cookies flat and why vinegar makes milk thick, there are many things I could not even begin to understand much less explain.

Among these things is the whipping of cream. Fat globules, yadda, yadda, emulsion, yadda, yadda, yadda…the steps make sense but there are too many kinks in the description. If whipping cream is nothing more than an emulsion, shouldn’t you be able to “whip” salad dressing? Agreed, the unsaturated fats aren’t so apt to form a micelle, but what about ranch? These are all questions that are beyond me.

Normally, I would let such a thing pass. I’m not a big fan of whipped cream and, being particularly fat phobic, I try to avoid anything with the words “cream” or “heavy” in it. But I’m in a bit of a predicament. I desperately want to try to use my microwave cake recipe to make tiramisu (yet another one of my random, out-of-nowhere food cravings) but I cannot think of any way to get around the fat in the mascarpone. Ideally, I could use some cheesecake pudding mix to make “whipped” pudding but that hasn’t worked so far.

Help!

4 responses to “For the chemists

  1. sarah February 17, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    that’s funny you thought of me the other day while doing research 😉 I don’t think I would have known that either…I am an Organic chemist…I dump stuff in and hope it works :D. I live in Utah btw…you? I have not seen this low cal soy milk….but I have been using almond and coconut- both unsweetened and I love it!

    • Mekkie February 21, 2011 at 1:36 pm

      See, that’s why I signed up for orgo! I thought there was no measuring involved. Apparently, I was wrong….
      I’m stuck in Michigan, aka the most boring place in the world unless you consider freak weather patterns exciting (which I do not). Not too many places carry the 8th continent but, if you ask your grocer, I’m sure they could get it for you. The almond breeze unsweetened is ok but it has a really strange aftertaste. Maybe because I got the low fat kind? Who ever heard of low fat almonds!

Leave a Reply

