Uses for Mushy Quinoa: Add Cheese!

This site has moved. Please click on the following link to read this post:

http://measuredinpinches.com/2011/02/04/uses-for-mushy-quinoa-add-cheese/

15 responses to “Uses for Mushy Quinoa: Add Cheese!

  1. sarah February 4, 2011 at 7:45 pm

    it must be one of those weeks…I myself work full time as an associate scientist and everything I did this week was a big FAIL it seems and I know the feeling….except mine is…if only I were thin I could go eat some fudge brownies or something….mmmm….fudge brownies….that is all I can think about right now because I am so cranky that my research sucks so bad and that I am “fat” and can’t eat fudge brownies or shouldn’t eat fudge brownies….and now I am supposed to go teach yoga and learn some bollywood from a fellow colleague…but really I just want to go home and lay on the floor or go stare at fudge brownies….

  2. sarah February 9, 2011 at 4:14 pm

    I am doing polymer drug research on Ovarian cancer at the moment and making other drug polymers for other companies to test out. Sounds cooler than it really is. Lol

    • Mekkie February 10, 2011 at 2:39 pm

      Are you a bench chemist or do you have a Ph.D? I think organic chemistry-ish stuff always sounds more interesting than it actually is. I’m doing undergraduate research for one of the chem professors at the university and the only reason I picked him was because I was drawn in by the description of “one-pot borylations of dichlorobenzene compounds” as environmentally friendly and precursors to many drugs. Oh, did I mention Merck’s involved too?

      I guess some people who understand it REALLY well find it at cool as it sounds. As for me, I just go to group meetings and stare at the mechanisms/paper presentations, pretending to care…

      That’s mostly because it still looks like a bunch of pretty lines to me.

  3. sarah February 9, 2011 at 4:14 pm

    I jsut saw I can click and get notified when you reply!

    • Mekkie February 10, 2011 at 2:41 pm

      Haha…yes, and you can also subscribe via facebook, twitter or email. I really hope that covers all the social media sites out there. Honestly, I don’t even understand the concept of twitter…

  4. um ok February 9, 2011 at 6:41 pm

    Being thin is not an end all of problems in the world. Also, being thin is stupid. Just like most people live 3 checks away from homelessness, thin people live 3 meals away from death. That is an idiotic way of living. Also, you are not fat.

  5. sarah February 10, 2011 at 3:22 pm

    yeah. twitter. I do not have an account because I don’t understand it either.

    • Mekkie February 12, 2011 at 2:35 pm

      I heard it’s good to have for a blog. I try to use it more though, because I feel like I should. Pretty much the only thing it’s good for besides blogging is university and/or job updates. Sometimes I’ll see a tweet about a grad school scholarship or a summer research/internship opportunity. It’s a lot easier than going looking for one and it keeps me constantly reminded that I’m not allowed to sit around ALL day and do nothing. I do need to figure out a plan from here.

  6. sarah February 10, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    LOL. I understand that….I have an M.S. in Organic Chemistry. I was PhD track and then I realized I hated synthesis and didn’t want to do what a PhD does. So I graduated after 3 years with a thesis M.S. and looked for a job for the next 8 months or so. and now I am working for a starting company with a lot of stress and being the employee all of it falls on my shoulders. ick. Oh well. I have been here for just over a year now. I love the people, but wish my job didn’t involve being in a lab so much lol.

    • Mekkie February 12, 2011 at 2:33 pm

      Yeah, I was looking into what to do with the rest of my life (which seems to be ALL I do these days except eat and worry about eating and/or the rest of my life) and I found getting an MS in Chemistry doesn’t help all that much in the job sphere.

      To be honest, I never even like Chemistry. I remember graduating high school and thinking “Thank god I will never have to take another chemistry class ever again.” And here I am: instead of writing a book or being an investigative reporter, I’m paying to work in a Chemistry lab with a grad student that expects me to know everything–I don’t even know the basics. “We’re going to try different oxidizing agents,” he says. Well, yeah, great…what was that again?

      I mean, the newness is exciting, but I don’t really CARE about what we’re doing. I guess some part of me feels like it would be marginally better to spend the rest of my life doing something I hate than living on the street. Oh look, I’m rambling again.

      If you love the people, I think that’s what matters. You learn to deal with stress, but finding a job with people you love…well, that’s a doozy.

      Not that I understand any of it, but what was your thesis on?

  7. sarah February 12, 2011 at 10:35 pm

    I can totally relate. If you had told me I was going to go into chemistry when I was in high school taking it I would have laughed in your face. I did not like it. I too wanted to be a writer or something way more artistic….which is funny because I have gone so far into the sciences now that my creativity genes have sort of died. I basically worked so hard to understand organic chemistry that I thought it a pity to waste all that knowledge…if i had only known…being a pharmacist sounds so wonderful right now…no thinking…lots of money…no working over 40 hours a week without awesome compensation…sigh….Trust me I totally relate. Now I just do what I do because it is safe and I can’t think of anything better without going back to do more school…anyways….my thesis was on developing a 2-deoxystreptamine derivative with peptide linkages to modify small molecule binding affinity to the A-site of mRNA…hopefully to develop anew antibiotic that will eliminate side affects and eliminate bacterial resistance….

Leave a Reply

