5 Minutes to a Little Taste of Italy

It’s funny, because you’d think, not taking any classes, I’d have a lot more time on my hands to cook. But what seems to happen every day is I’ll get caught up in something (like cleaning/reorganizing or playing with photoshop) and the hunger pangs will sneak up on me. Then, I’ll need to eat something healthy quick before my blood sugar crashes and I eat everything in sight.

To prevent this eating of everything in sight (which usually leads to a great degree of anxiety and some self-destructive behavior), I usually open up the fridge/freezer and cook up the first thing that looks interesting/is going bad. This salad is a mix of both, I would say…the Morningstar Chicken Strips had been lying there forever and the peppers and onions go in almost everything if I’m cooking. So, here it is, another great weeknight meal.

*sigh* I hate taking pictures at night...

Last-Minute Chick’n and Veggie Salad (Italian Version)
makes 1 salad

  • Lettuce of choice (“Seven Lettuce” or Mediterranean blends would would nicely for this)
  • Tomatoes, chopped or, even better, sun-dried tomatoes
  • Morningstar Farms Meal Starters Chick’n Strips (feel free to substitute)
  • 3 pepper onion blend
  • Parmesan and/or fat-free mozzarella cheese
  • A couple good squirts fat-free Italian dressing

→Put the lettuce in a bowl/salad plate. Put the tomatoes on top.

In a small frying pan sprayed with nonstick spray, “saute” the 3 pepper onion blend and the Chick’n Strips. Put this on top of the salad.

Sprinkle a little cheese on top.

Squirt on a few good squirts of dressing.

Some chopped parsley would be nice too if you have some.

Yes, I tried to make it look like an actual recipe but, let’s be honest, this one’s so incredibly easy, it’s more of an idea than a recipe.

 

Leave a Reply

