What’s in a name?

When I emailed the editors of one of my school’s online newspapers a few years back about starting a healthy cooking blog, they were very enthusiastic and told me to come over here, sign up, and think of name. I wanted to get started as soon as possible, so I used the first name that popped into my head. Back then, I figured the blog would get a few hits at most from the college community but nothing more.

It was going to be a hobby, but, now, two years later, it’s because so much more than that: a reflection of who I am to some extent.

As I changed as a person, the blog itself changed along with me. Not only did it grow in volume, but also in theme. It was just going to be about low-calorie cooking for college students. But it’s not about that anymore. Parts are…and the recipes are certainly calorie-reduced, but that’s not the main point anymore. And it’s certainly not only for college students.

So I have a question for any reader that reads this blog every day or just happens upon it by chance: Do you think it’s a bad idea to change the name of a blog?

I’m torn between not wanting to lose any faithful readers but also wanting to relate and reach out to more people. And, since I’ve discovered just recently, that very few people have actually heard of the freshman 15, the title of this blog contradicts the latter.

Bloggers and readers of the world…help me to decide!

Here are a few ideas I’m thinking of:
Beakers and Baking
Utensils Optional
A pinch of this and a pinch of that
Measured in pinches

6 responses to “What’s in a name?

  1. Emmie January 10, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    I personally like Measured in Pinches

    • eeyoreblues27 January 10, 2011 at 4:06 pm

      That and “A pinch of this and a pinch of that” are the ones I’m leaning toward. But I still don’t know if I should change it or not!

  2. Nandini January 11, 2011 at 3:02 am

    Personally, I like a “pinch of this and a pinch of that”.

  3. Pingback: Measured in pinches « Thoughts on the Freshman 15

  4. Pingback: Measured in pinches and a giveaway « Thoughts on the Freshman 15

Leave a Reply

