The Ultimate “Like-Substance”: Chocolate Cake

In a vain effort to increase my readership, I went a-googling for “tips on getting more blog followers”. Now, I consider myself quite a good “googler” and am my family’s (non-resident) google-queen. My obsession with search-engine driven answers has reached to such an extent that I am known to google such phrases as, “help i ate 4000 calories last night” and “gray’s anatomy full-color heart diagram”. So far, I think I’ve saved quite a bit on textbooks and shrink appointments.

This particular google, however, left me with more questions than answers. Perhaps it was just a failure of my googling skills. Or the information I seeked sought just isn’t out there. Either way, the best result I could find was Seth Godin’s List of 56 Tips, which, among other exorbitant ideas, suggested I write in Chinese, write short posts that are at the same time long, and write about Google.

While I did just spit out an entire eulogy’s worth to my love of Google, I suppose, if Seth Godin’s advice is true, my blog is doomed nonetheless. I will, however, persevere, because that is something that even I, princess of Google (yes, I demoted myself), don’t need the internet to tell me.

While I work on learning Chinese, try these variations on Patricia Green’s and Carolyn Hemming’s Chocolate Quinoa Cake from their book, Quinoa 365, the Everyday Superfood. Adapted from “The Family Kitchen”.

Version 1: Chocolate Pistachio Cake
makes 1 8″ round cake

  • 1 c. cooked quinoa
  • 1/6 c. milk
  • 1/2c. egg substitute or 2 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/4 c. applesauce
  • 2 T. light stick butter, melted
  • 8 tsp. (14 grams) sugar-free, fat-free pistachio pudding mix
  • 1/4 t. baking SODA
  • 3/4 t. baking POWDER
  • 7 T. sugar substitute/sugar
  • 1/4 c. cocoa powder
  • pinch salt
Chocolate Orange Cake Layered with Angel Food Cake

Chocolate Orange Cake Layered with Angel Food Cake

Version 2: Chocolate Orange Cake
makes 1 8″ round cake

  • 1 c. cooked quinoa
  • 1/6 c. milk
  • 1/2c. egg substitute or 2 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp. orange extract
  • 1/4 c. applesauce
  • 2 T. light stick butter, melted
  • 1/4 t. baking SODA
  • 3/4 t. baking POWDER
  • 1/4 c. sugar substitute/sugar
  • 6 T. cocoa powder
  • 2 t. (6 grams) sugar-free orange Jello mix
  • pinch salt

→Preheat the oven to 350*F and grease an 8″-inch round pan. (This cake is super “pan-philic” = loves the pan, so, if you have it, you might want to line the pan with parchment paper).

Combine the wet ingredients (quinoa, eggs milk, applesauce, butter, and extract) and blend (with a blender) until smooth.

In a separate bowl, whisk the dry ingredients (flavoring powder, cocoa, sugar substitute, baking powder, baking soda and salt).

Add the wet to the dry and mix well. Pour into the prepared pan and bake for 40-50 minutes (the orange one took a little longer for me).

Note: The only thing that changes between version 1 and 2 is the sugar substitute, the cocoa powder, the extract and the orange Jello vs. pudding mix powder.

The orange one came out a little dense for my liking (I guess I’m not used to rich cake anymore) so I layered it with some store-bought sugar-free angel food cake and topped it with orange-yogurt icing (greek yogurt mixed with a VERY small amount of sugar-free orange Jello powder).

Chocolate Orange Cake Layered with Angel Food Cake

It was hard to resist long enough to take the picture!

Let’s just say this cake came out so good it left me googling “desserts with cooked quinoa”. 😉
Any suggestions?

Quinoa on FoodistaQuinoa

2 responses to “The Ultimate “Like-Substance”: Chocolate Cake

  1. Thomas the train cake February 15, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    WOW how can I take that Chocolate-cake of my screen and get it next to my mouse..?
    P.S some thing like this would be better for you image alt tags “Chocolate Orange Cake Layered with Angel Food Cake” not that nunber, hope that little bit of in for helps and keep up the good work.

    • Mekkie February 16, 2011 at 9:17 pm

      Oh wow! I never even noticed the alt image tags! Thanks for that tip…I’ll have to go through my entire media library and fix all of them now.

Leave a Reply

