A Christmas Carol: The Foodie Version

I had a whole thing planned out. Each ghost would show a tale more morbid than the last (just like the in the story), but, instead of ending happily, the lesson at the end would be that nothing changes. It was really all quite poignant. Unfortunately, it was also quite depressing (in the most existential of ways).

Fear not, though! You’re all in luck because, instead of sitting around and mourning the fact that it’s Christmas (again), I’m all alone (again), and I’m fat (again), I, in the utter OCD-ness that is me, decided to clean out my freezer. Having very little “on hand” food, I seriously considered going to the grocery store yesterday. I’ll buy some peanut butter, bananas, lettuce, hummus and then at least I’ll have SOMETHING to eat, I thought to myself. I think it was sheer laziness that stopped me but, just to make me feel better, let’s call it willpower (can’t eat if there’s no food, right?).

Of course, as we all know, not eating leads to (even more than normal) OCD-ness over food. ‘Twas the night before Christmas, yadda, yadda, I took it out on my freezer. I have to say I was a little shocked at the two ingredients I seemed in surplus of. So, here it is, Dickens’ A Christmas Carol, revamped for the foodies.

The Ghosts of Christmas Past

The Typically "Sweet" Ingredients

The Typically "Savory" Ingredients

 

I’m really craving cookies…so perhaps some of those?

One response to “A Christmas Carol: The Foodie Version

  1. Pingback: Curried Lentil Loaf with Chatpata Butternut Sabzi « Measured in Pinches (formerly Thoughts on the Freshman 15)

Leave a Reply

