Indian Style Green Beans

I’m sure there’s an Indian name for this one. I just can’t think of it at the moment.

This particular sabzi has always been a go-to recipes, mainly because it starts with a bag of frozen vegetables. When I first started college (again), I was forced to go to my parents’ every weekend (just being out of the hospital and all). Every weekend, my mom would ask me “ki khana hai?” which basically means, “what do you want to eat?” I would start naming vegetables: “gobi (cauliflower)?….”eggplant?”….”pav bhaji?”. To each she would respond that she didn’t have that vegetable and that she didn’t want to go to the store. Eventually, I would give up and just say, “Then make green beans”.

It’s not that I didn’t LIKE green beans but more that they always seemed a little plain to me. After all, there’s no haldi (turmeric) in this one. I’d survive, though, and, in the end, I’m sure they tasted far better than the protein bars I’ve been bingeing on lately.

Indian Italian-style Green Beans makes roughly 2 portions

  • 1 4-serving bag frozen italian style green beans, defrosted
  • A tablespoon or two tomato paste (I usually end up using about 1/4-1/2 of a 6oz can)
  • a small amount garlic, optional (normally this doesn’t have garlic in it, but sometimes I’ll add it….add with caution though because, if you aren’t in love with garlic like me, you probably won’t like the garlic in this)
  • a teaspoon or two garam masala (a.k.a. curry powder)
  • about a teaspoon each of coriander and cumin powder
  • salt and pepper
  • lemon juice, optional

→NOTE: As with most of my Indian recipes, all the measurements are approximate. I didn’t measure when I made this, just played it by ear.
Heat a small amount of oil in a medium saucepan and saute the garlic (if you chose to add it) and spices until fragrant.
Add beans and tomato paste. Stir well, coating the beans in the spices and tomatoes. You might have to add a little water at this point if it’s too dry.
Cover and cook the beans have absorbed the flavor, stirring occasionally.
Add salt and pepper to taste. Add lemon juice to taste.
Enjoy

One response to “Indian Style Green Beans

  1. Pingback: Green Living = Economical Living « Measured in Pinches: Experiments in Molecular Gastronomy

Leave a Reply

