Who is that?

More often than not these days I find myself staring into the mirror wondering who that is I see. There must be a human there somewhere: a human with real thoughts, real emotions, real dreams, a human with a modicum of talent.

As the weather gets colder, the smell of dying leaves in the wind makes me nostalgic for things I never even knew. Every time I smell it, I feel a deep emptiness for something my subconscious seems to remember, but almost quite doesn’t.

The numbers on the scale continue to grow and with each new digit I lose another part of me. Or another part of that me I want to be. Maybe it is these transitions that throw me off: the transition between seasons, the transition between two different people, the transition between hope and fear…

Perhaps the problem is simple: like the masks we all love to wear on halloween, the face in the mirror never was mine. Perhaps this is why it’s so hated. My life is one incongruence after another: medical problems without any evidence, red ant infestations in the middle of the night, and, now, a person that’s not a person-a person without a daemon.

It's a fiesta in a bowl!

Taco Salad makes one quite sizable taco salad

  • 1/2 can of fat free refried beans
  • 28g (1/4c) fat free shredded cheddar cheese
  • A spoonful of fat free greek yogurt
  • 1/4c. salsa
  • 1c. frozen 3 pepper and onion blend (optional)
  • shredded lettuce and chopped tomato
  • ground veggie beef (optional)

→Spray a small nonstick pan with nonstick spray. Add frozen pepper and onion blend. Saute a few minutes until browned. Toss the beans in the microwave. Once they’re heated to your liking, top with the shredded lettuce, sauteed peppers, chopped tomato, and shredded cheese. Finish off with the salsa and a dollop of greek yogurt.
Enjoy.

Note: without the veggie beef, this recipe comes out to about 275 calories for the entire thing. That is, of course, dependent on the brands you choose to use.

Leave a Reply

