Contemplations on love and fungi

I suppose it’s a common thing to ask people if they love you. I’m not saying that we go around asking everyone if they love us or not, just that, if there’s a chance someone might, we always want to be sure.

That’s never enough for me though. It doesn’t matter if someone loves me or not. It really only matters why. Because, in my twisted mind, love doesn’t exist unless there’s a reason for it–nothing exists unless there’s a reason for it.

One of my professors said he couldn’t understand hate. He was fascinated with the infamous characters of the second world war because they managed to hate with such vigor that it destroyed them.

How can hate be hard to understand? Humans are wired to hate. To look out only for ourselves. To want our own betterment at the expense of others. That’s what humanity is. If you take away the laws and societal constructs, that’s who we are.

But, yet, we manage to love. Love to the point that there are some of us, many of us, I suspect, that don’t even understand an inability to love. How can you feel something you can’t define?

Poe could, but I suppose no one should ever hope for love like that.

Mushroom Methi

  • 2t minced garlic
  • 1/2t ginger paste
  • 1 white onion, chopped
  • 1-2 medium tomato, chopped
  • 1t-2t (depending on how much flavor you want) of the following spices: garam masala (curry powder), turmeric, and dry coriander
  • 1 pack mushrooms (I just use the sliced mushrooms they had at the store that come in a little tray)
  • 1-2 chunks frozen methi (this isn’t like the dry methi you find at the store; it’s more like spinach, but I wouldn’t try substituting)
  • 2-3 medium squirts of lemon juice (I used four but, then again, I suck on lemons whenever I get fresh ones)

→NOTE: all the measurements are approximate. I didn’t measure when I made this, just played it by ear.
Heat a small amount of oil in a medium saucepan and saute the onion, garlic and spices until the onion is lightly browned.
Add tomatoes and cook a little longer.
Add mushrooms and methi. Stir well, coating them in the spices and tomatoes. You might have to add a little water at this point if it’s too dry.
Cover and cook until stew-y, stirring occasionally.
Add salt and pepper to taste. Add lemon juice to taste.
The end.

In case you were wondering, methi is the indian term for fenugreek

One response to “Contemplations on love and fungi

  1. Pingback: “Best of” (the encore edition) « Thoughts on the Freshman 15

Leave a Reply

