Lasagna (Sort Of)

I just realized how long I’ve been away and how not good that is. I could go on and ramble about my horrible boss or my failed chem test, but how about we make this one all about the food. That way, I can get back to studying physics, while at the same time saving myself the embarrassment of admitting EXACTLY how badly I did on my chem test.

All while you guys out there get to read a recipe that I made back in December and just never got around to posting. It’s good though. Seriously. Don’t believe me? Try it.

Lasagna

Lasagna Like-Substance

  • 1 spaghetti squash (get a good sized one, about 4.5 pounds)
  • 4 oz goat cheese (also called “chevre” if you’re fancy)
  • 15 oz cottage cheese
  • 8 oz grated mozzarella cheese
  • 1/4 c. Egg Beaters (or non-brand name eggbeaters)
  • 1/4 c. grated parmesan
  • about 2 c. spaghetti squash of choice (get the kind with the fresh veggies and whole tomatoes or, even better, make your own)
  • whole garlic cloves, chopped or garlic powder (I used about 5 medium cloves here plus what was already in the sauce, but I love garlic)
  • salt and pepper to taste

→Cook the squash either in the microwave or the oven. Remove the seeds.
Scoop out the spaghetti-like strands and cook them with garlic. There are two options here: either saute the garlic cloves in a pan and then add the squash, salt and pepper or, the lazy option, just mix the squash with garlic powder and some salt/pepper and put it in a pan till it’s a little brown.
Mash the cottage cheese with a fork until it develops a ricotta like consistency (or just use ricotta here). Mix with the egg substitute, the goat cheese, the parmesan and half of the mozzarella.
Pour some sauce in the bottom of a 9″X13″ lasagna pan. Add 1/2 the squash mixture. Then add the cheese mixture. Then the final layer of squash. Top it off with the mozzarella.
Bake at 375 for about 45 mins (I did mine in the toaster oven as usual so it was probably a little shorter).
Dig in.

One response to “Lasagna (Sort Of)

  1. Pingback: “Best of” (the encore edition) « Thoughts on the Freshman 15

Leave a Reply

