I made hummus (again)

So, I used a recipe this time. It’s weird though because, the first time I used this recipe, it came out really good and, this time, it’s off. I guess that’s why they say you should never use recipes for things like hummus, hunh?

I don’t think the Victoza is going to be of much use to me. I started on the .6mg dose yesterday and didn’t have any luck with the supposed appetite suppression. In fact, if anything, I ate more. (But that’s probably from staying up too late).

I think I’m stressed or depressed about something but I can’t figure out what. I haven’t slept since the cardio ball (besides five minutes here and there) and I seem to vacillate between eating a lot and not eating. In fact, I had to steal some sleeping pills from the drug closet on Friday and ended up taking them yesterday night. I was STILL restless.

*sigh* Maybe I just need a shrink.
Shrink: And how do you feel about that?
Me: If I knew, I wouldn’t need you, now would I?
Shrink: And how does that make you feel?
Me: Annoyed that I’m paying you so much to continuously ask me how I feel.
Shrink: I’m sorry you feel that way.
Me: *slaps shrink and walks out*

That’s what happened with the last one anyway.

I cheated and used the same picture as last time. Doesn't matter, they look the same anyhow

Hummus (the second time around)

  • 1/4c. yogurt (use greek)
  • 1 can garbanzo beans
  • 1/2c. tahini
  • 1/2c. lemon juice (I used about 2 large lemons)
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 1/2t. salt

→Put all ingredients in a food processor and blend. It helps to whir the garlic and chickpeas around a little first so there aren’t any chunks left.

Add more lemon juice (or citric acid if it’s too thin for more lemon juice) if you’re anything like me. You could also add some water if it’s too thick.

5 responses to “I made hummus (again)

  1. Maira March 11, 2010 at 4:20 pm

    I love hummus…I am def going to try this.Thanks for posting it:)

  2. Maira March 11, 2010 at 4:22 pm

    Any particular tahini you recommend? Also,will Dannon yoghurt work?

    • eeyoreblues27 March 11, 2010 at 4:44 pm

      As far as the tahini, it’s really personal preference. I find the best tahini I’ve been able to find was at a middle eastern bakery-Alkanater brand (orange lid).

      As far as the yogurt goes, I used greek yogurt but it’s really all the same. Greek yogurt is just regular yogurt with some of the water strained out. You might just need a little less liquid overall in the recipe since your yogurt contains more water.

  3. Pingback: A REAL Veggie Wrap « Thoughts on the Freshman 15

  4. Pingback: A Veggie Sandwich to Make Hardcore Carnivores Convert « Measured in Pinches (formerly Thoughts on the Freshman 15)

Leave a Reply

