Quinoa-stuffed Red Pepper

I just realized that, ever since I started abiding by the “two posts a week rule” the online newspaper this blog is part of has, my posts have become…well…post-less.

I don’t know. I mean, I know that the point of having a blog is to post in it. And the point of having a food/eating disorder blog is to post in it about food, but it’s always been a spontaneous thing for me. Cooking, writing, fine arts, you can’t force these things. At least I can’t.

For some reason, I haven’t felt very…creative lately. Maybe it’s the 10 billion hours I spend a week doing science. Maybe it’s the fact that every single second I’m not working, in class or studying, I’m doing one of the other two things. I swear. I even study on the toilet. And while driving. And while eating. And while sleeping, I’m sure.

And, yet, I manage to not be able to comprehend anything in any of my classes because no matter how long I stare at the words on a page, the words don’t register.

I forgot what this post was about. I feel like it’s turning into a rant, though, so here’s something I made up about a week ago when I was sick of microwave popcorn, bananas and cottage cheese. (These are now, unfortunately, my staple dinners because eating at restaurants costs too much and I don’t have time to cook).

Stuffed Pepper

Healthy Taco-y Stuffed Pepper (not soup!)

  • 1 bell pepper (I chose red because, not only is it the best tasting pepper, but it also represents my current feelings of rage toward life quite nicely)
  • 1/2 ground veggie meat (or a cut up boca burger, but the meat would probably be a little cheaper depending on the brand)
  • about 1/4c. chopped onion
  • about 1/4c. cheddar cheese, fat free or low fat or full fat (for atkins-ers)
  • 1/4c. cooked quinoa (feel free to sub with wheatberries, barley, couscous, rice, breadcrumbs, etc)
  • about 1/4c.-1/2 tomato sauce (not the seasoned kind, just the plain old blended tomatoes)
  • taco-y spices like garlic powder, onion powder, chili powder, cumin or whatever else you feel like

→Cut the top off of the pepper and cut it in half. Scrape out all the internal gunk and roast the pepper on a baking sheet (sprayed, of course) for 15 minutes at 375F.
While the pepper is roasting, mix all the other ingredients in a small bowl.
After 15 minutes, take the pepper out and reduce the heat to 350F. Spoon the other ingredients into the peppers (I had to make little heaps to fit it all in) and stick it back in the oven for 20 minutes.
As always, if you are a child, ask an adult for help with the cutting and oven parts. This is (a parody of) a legal disclaimer.

2 responses to “Quinoa-stuffed Red Pepper

  1. Red Microwave Ovens March 13, 2010 at 12:08 am

    Could you go into more detail on this? Btw, the advice you gave me is really good.

Leave a Reply

