Pav Bhaji (sort of)

IF YOU ARE AN ETHIOPIAN AND READING THIS, PLEASE PLEASE PLEEEEEASE COMMENT AND TELL ME HOW TO MAKE ANY MILD ETHIOPIAN VEGETARIAN DISH!!!!

PLEASE

Okay, now that that’s done with, I can start talking about all the classes I’m failing. All because of a damn i-clicker. What is an i-clicker, you ask. It’s the most annoying, perverted piece of technological crap I have ever had the misfortune to come across.

And believe you me, I’ve come across a lot of perverted technological instruments.

As you might have guessed from the previous post, there hasn’t been much cooking going on in my kitchen. Yes, there was the making of the broccoli (see the oven-roasted broccoli recipe), but that’s not truly “cooking”.

This recipe came more out of desperation. The kind of desperation that results from buying a large amount of produce that is (now) rotting. So what do you do with rotting produce?

Well, if you’re a normal person, you throw it out. If you’re me, you chop it up and boil it in some tomatoes and spices. I suppose this is my equivalent of “what’s in the fridge soup”. I don’t really do soup (unless it’s split pea, crushed lentil or black bean) so no soup for me, just mush. Doesn’t sound too great but it’s amazing. AND it works with any veggies.

It’s basically just a canvas for spices.

yummy

Pseudo Pav Bhaji

  • veggies of choice (mushrooms, spinach, eggplant, etc)
  • tomatoes and tomato puree
  • onions
  • spices (I go with the indian “garam masala” and “kitchen king” with a couple dashes of turmeric, cumin and coriander; garlic and ginger as always)
  • lemon juice
  • green peas

→Saute the onions, garlic and ginger. Add veggies and tomatoes/puree. Add spices. Stir. Cover. Cook till veggies are soft and soupy goes to mushy. Top with a squeeze of lemon juice and a LOT of green peas. 😀

So good.

Leave a Reply

