Sushi (No raw fish here!)

Well, obviously there’s no raw fish…I’m a vegetarian.

I still haven’t figured out what to do with my life, although I am still open to suggestions. I’m not applying to any grad schools or anything but, seeing as how I can’t get a job until I get a real diploma, I figured I might as well sign up for some science classes to prevent me from going crazy.

Although science classes have been known to MAKE people crazy.

Oh, I’m also looking for a job (not a career job, a regular job), so if anyone knows about one in the Lansing area, please…do share.

Until then, I will be haplessly cooking. Hopefully, all of it won’t be hapless. This sushi was pretty hapless but that’s mainly because I neglected to buy carrots and sprouts and anything else that one would normally put in sushi.

Really, it was just more of an impulse thing. Tasted good warm though.

Sushi

Brown Rice Sushi

  • sushi wrappers
  • sprouted brown rice (I actually had one of those Annie Chun’s kits that I bought forever ago and thought I should use. I don’t really know exactly how one would sprout brown rice)
  • portabello mushrooms
  • marinade for the mushrooms (soy sauce, garlic, ginger, salt/pepper, apple cider vinegar, worcestershire sauce)
  • other vegetables/fruit (if I had them, I would have thrown in carrots and possibly sprouts, but I ended up with just baby corn and pineapple to accompany the mushrooms)

→Prepare the marinade. Marinate the mushrooms: you can either do it the long way or just do what I did and put them in a dish with the marinade, cover the dish and zap it with your microwave until the flavors are absorbed).
Prepare the rice. For me, this meant microwaving the little rice container my kit came with.
Spread the sushi wrapper (seaweed) on a bamboo mat (if you actually have a bamboo mat, you probably won’t be reading this so you can just spread it on the counter like me).
I didn’t use the seaweed that came with the pack (it tasted funny) but I had some other dried seaweed that I bought from the grocery store so I just used that. It had directions for wrapping on the back with little pictures. Without the pictures, here it is:
Spread the rice on the sushi wrapper (dried seaweed), leaving about one inch of space at the end (the long end, not the short one).
Align the vegetables along the edge of the riced side of the sushi wrapper (seaweed).
Roll.
Chop.
Dip in sauce (marinade for the mushrooms).
Enjoy.

One response to “Sushi (No raw fish here!)

  1. MB January 26, 2010 at 3:57 pm

    Sounds sooooo yummy and healthy:) BUT seems like a lot of preparation and patience is required in its making:( May be one day I will be courageous enough to make these yummy goodies!

Leave a Reply

