Grape Leaves

Apparently, existential crises are extremely conducive to the culinary arts. I’ve been cooking like crazy these past few days…muffins, mushrooms, eggplant, and, of course, grape leaves.

Before I get to the leaves though, I think I need to elaborate on the existential crisis. If you really don’t care and you’re reading this anyway, please keep reading…because I need some serious help on this one. That means you Nina! 😀

As you may or may not have heard, I’ve just graduated but, according to the wonderful educational bureaucracy that is my university, I won’t be receiving my diploma till next semester. (There was some sticky business with a few transfer credits from the study abroad I did in England).

Of course this means that no one is going to hire me. Not that I’m even sure I WANT to be hired right now. I did fail my journalism class (first class I’ve ever failed in my entire life). I’m probably not even meant to be a journalist. Getting that grade was like a life sentence…”Here’s your future as a journalist–failure.”

My friend says not to let that idiot discourage me. But maybe he’s right (the professor, not the friend). Maybe I’d be no good at being a journalist. I didn’t enjoy the class all that much. Two of the three papers I was assigned didn’t even use ONE of my stories.

Maybe I wouldn’t be happy being a journalist.

But then what the hell am I supposed to be? A doctor, maybe. I don’t care enough about people. Although the strange combination of art and science that is medicine has always captured my interest. I’m just afraid that, if I go through all the extra school, I’ll get bored of it. I might just be bored of being a journalist. I get bored oh so easily.

Bored of TV shows, bored of foods, bored of places, bored of things, bored of classes, bored of people, bored of jobs, bored of careers…I haven’t been able to stick with one thing for an extended period of time. Everything just gets old after awhile.

*sigh* I wish I knew why I’m constantly craving new. Maybe that’s why I wanted to be a journalist in the first place: I thought it would always be something new, but given this last semester, that feels like a fallacy.

What do I do?!!!

Grape Leaves in the pot (I know the picture's bad, but it was dark out so I couldn't get a clear picture without the flash)

Vegetarian Stuffed Grape Leaves
**I’m not going to detail how to stuff them because I don’t think I’d be able to describe it properly. Just google it and watch a video.**

  • Grape leaves
  • Rice (or brown rice, which is what I used)
  • chopped tomatoes
  • chickpeas
  • parsley (chopped)
  • green onions (stem and bulb, chopped)
  • yellow onions
  • garlic and lemon juice to cook the leaves in
  • olive oil

→Drain, rinse and blanch the leaves. Soak the rice in water for 10-20 minutes and rinse.
Mix the rice with everything but the garlic, lemon and olive oil.
Spread the grape leaves out, put a tablespoon of rice mix in the center and fold (this is where you might want to look at a video).
Line the bottom of a pot with carrots or onions or extra grape leaves. Arrange the grape leaves on top so that there’s no room between or around them.
Put a layer of sliced garlic on top. Add lemon juice (FRESH) and enough water to just reach up to where the grape leaves are.
Put the pot on high heat until the water boils and then reduce to medium for about an hour.
Enjoy all the hard work.

3 responses to “Grape Leaves

  1. Nina January 7, 2010 at 4:07 am

    Thanks for the shout-out 🙂

    That’s so annoying about not getting your diploma until next semester! You’re right though, journalism does sound like it would always be something new. So it seems perfect for you. You obviously enjoy writing and you’re good at it, so stick with it! You can’t let one professor’s negativity change your career, as long as its something you’re passionate about. One piece of advice I can offer: don’t go to grad school until you’re sure of what you want to do. I made that mistake and am currently regretting it. If you can, take some time to figure out what you really want. Maybe you can get an easy part-time job and use next semester to figure it out? I hope this is helpful!

    • eeyoreblues27 January 9, 2010 at 9:04 pm

      Thank you so much for the encouragement. The problem is, it’s not really just the professor…I was already questioning my decision to become a journalist.

      I’m most definitely not going to grad school anytime soon. If I were to choose journalism, I wouldn’t bother with more school and, if I went with something else, there would probably be more undergraduate requirements before I could get into grad school.

      Just because I’m curious, what did you get a graduate degree in?

Leave a Reply

