I lose weight on vacation.

I swear. It’s true. I think it’s because I’m a picky eater. When I’m at home, I eat unlimited amounts of hummus (my one weakness that’s not sugar). If there’s no hummus, then there’s no fun in it for me so I end up eating nothing but fruit and vegetables.

Which is what vegetarians should be eating anyway, right?

Anyway, this isn’t just a random tidbit about me that none of you probably cared to know. It’s actually relevant to this post, which I’m going to try to make relevant to this blog…sort of.

I just got back from a 5-day trip to Disney World. Sorry for the lack of postage. I was too busy trying to make my dreams come true and what not. I did meet the fairy godmother but found her a little to vapid to even understand the depth of my pains.

*sigh* I guess that’s what happens when you sell out to big corporations like Disney. No more power to grant wishes and what not.

Surprisingly, it wasn’t horribly hard to find decent veggie food down there. I figured it would be all pasta and pizza, but there was actually decent hummus in Disney World!

If you’re into Japanese food, there’s a place in the Hilton on Lake Buena Vista that made me realize how much I love sushi. I’ve had sushi before and decided only the the non-vegetarian versions must be good, but the vegetarian sushi at this place had me going back for more.
Benihana (I think they have locations in other places too)

Benehana's sushi (from their webpage)

Disney’s Magic Kingdom has a place called the Columbia Harbor House with excellent hummus. It’s one of those dirty diner type places where everyone orders fried chicken and a side of fries, but the hummus is amazing. The vegetarian chili was pretty good too, but it was a little watery for me.

So there it is. I managed to make this post about food. Hopefully I’ll be back to cooking soon. 😀

One response to “I lose weight on vacation.

  1. MB January 4, 2010 at 8:50 pm

    their tofu is amazing as well!

Leave a Reply

