Chat Masala (without the chips!)

So my internet has decided to work only sporadically. I guess that’s what you get for trying to mooch off of someone else’s connection.

Ah, there it goes again.

Well, no need to whine about my internet woes on my blog. I would say something deep and insightful about the fact that I’m done with school but I really can’t think of anything to say right now. So here’s a recipe…

Eggplant Chat

Chat Masala like stuff

  • Eggplant, sliced
  • Chat masala (you can get this at an Indian grocers)
  • Chickpeas (or hummus)
  • Sweet and sour chutney (or something sweet and something sour)
  • Plain yogurt

→Rub both sides of every eggplant slice with the chat masala (I just sprinkled it on top and rubbed it around with my finger). Grill.
When the slices are done being grilled (don’t burn them!), put them on a plate and top with the chickpeas (hummus?), plain yogurt and chutney.
If you’d like, top with something crunchy (unsweetened cereal? boondi? crumbled chips?)

Typically, this dish is done with chips. You can get it at pretty much any roadside stand in India, but I think the eggplant combined with the masala makes a nice change. If you don’t want to buy the chutney, just think of it this way-you need something sweet and something a tiny bit sour.

Leave a Reply

