Simple Sooji Idlis

I wonder, is it wrong to go to the dining hall at lunch and stay there through dinner? In all fairness, I did eat “lunch” around 1:30 pm and dinner starts at 4:00 pm. Besides, I’m probably going to have extra meals left over out of my 70 anyway.

Now, the matter of whether or not they towed my car, which I think is parked in a reserved space (if there’s not a sign directly in front of the space or arrows on the signs next to it, is the space still reserved?), is another question. I hope they didn’t tow it because that would be really sad.

While we’re on the whole “asking questions” thing, why is it that, whenever you ask people who work in the dining hall what vegan/vegetarian foods there are, they look at you like they don’t know what you’re talking about? What? There’s food other than steak and beef in the world? Are you sure?

I remember the hours upon hours spent last year arguing with one of the dining hall managers that “raw salad vegetables (including shredded carrots, which he pointed out they DID have) and one type of veggie burger” did not count as “an adequate selection for individuals with dietary restrictions”. He kindly explained to me that, if I didn’t like it, I could move off campus (although, for a freshman this is not allowed) and cook for myself.

When I informed him that for a lot of people moving off campus is against university policy he was kind enough to tell me that it wasn’t his problem some students had chosen to eat abnormally.

Tell me again why I got a meal plan this semester?

I guess it’s easier and I want the fruit of my labor. The story of the evil dining hall manager has a happy ending because, after protesting and protesting and talking to the director of student affairs, I finally got them to make a mandatory rule that several different kinds of fake meat products will be served at every meal along with hummus and pita in the salad bar.

I deserve to at least eat all that food I fought for!

Anyway, that wasn’t the point. The point was to talk about the idlis I made. Although I’m still in a “cooking slump,” these little steamed wheat cakes are so simple to make, they’re not even worth calling a recipe. Typically, they’re made with a mixture of rice and lentils or wheat and lentils along with several other add-ons, so feel free to modify this basic canvas any way you want.

Idlis (and the brown lentils/broccoli I decided to have with them)

Plain Sooji Idlis (and the brown lentils/broccoli I decided to have with them)

Idlis (Steamed Wheat Cakes)

  • 2 cups sooji (cream of wheat)
  • 1 cup plain yogurt
  • 1/2 T baking SODA (not powder)
  • salt, to taste
  • Microwave idli cooker (I got mine for 10 bucks at the Indian store that’s right before the Trowbridge entrance to I-96, Swagath Foods)
  • Nuts, seeds, flavorings…. (opt)

→Roast the cream of wheat in a pan like you would roast nuts. Or don’t, it’ll just taste a little different. Mix the salt, yogurt and sooji together adding water until it forms a thick, cake-like batter (thinner than a paste, thicker than a cake batter). Mix in optionals. Add in the baking soda and immediately cook according to the microwave idli makers directions.

Simple and much healthier than typical American style bread. Plus, with the microwave maker, there’s no excuse to eat white bread!

5 responses to “Simple Sooji Idlis

  1. MB September 18, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    Wow…your idlis look good & well done!!!

    • eeyoreblues27 September 20, 2009 at 5:59 pm

      Thanks. Although, half the ones I made were undercooked and the other half were burned. Stupid microwave.

      • MB September 21, 2009 at 12:12 am

        I know what you mean….I still have not tried my microwave idli maker,I am so much used to the traditional one.But I am sure;looking at the picture; at least few came out perfect.

      • eeyoreblues27 September 21, 2009 at 12:19 am

        It wasn’t the cooker. It was my microwave (which honestly looks like something you’d find on a spaceship during the Cold War era).

  2. MB September 21, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    LOL! Get a new one. Also Kohl’s has nice table.My microwave stopped working & they still have not fixed it,it has been more than a week.Thank God I had that spare one in the basement.

Leave a Reply

