Quinoa Cereal (with cooked quinoa)

As unfortunate as it sounds, I don’t really have any clever banter today. I do, but it’s fairly depressing and self-pitying so I thought I’d spare anyone who happens upon this blog.

I did come up with this recipe a while back, though. I was waiting to post it until I HAD some non-self-pitying clever banter, but a week is probably too long to wait anyway.

Quinoa Cereal

Quinoa Cereal

Quinoa Cereal

  • Quinoa, cooked (SEE NOTE)
  • Yogurt (preferably of the thick variety, I used kroger carbsmart vanilla)
  • fruits of choice (pineapple, strawberry, blueberry, raspberry, kiwi…for me)

→Put cooked quinoa in a bowl. Add yogurt. Stir. Top with chopped fruit. Yum.

NOTE (To cook quinoa): Rinse. RINSE WELL. If you don’t rinse it well enough (generally till the water’s clear), it’ll be bitter. If you’re unsure, just keep rinsing it till you feel like you’ve gone mad rinsing and that should be enough.
Put it in a pot. 1 part quinoa to 2 parts water (1.5 parts water if you like crunchier quinoa).
Bring to a boil. Put a lid on top of the pot. Then, reduce to a simmer and simmer for 15-20 minutes.
Enjoy.
***You can also replace the water with stock or juice or water + flavoring.

2 responses to “Quinoa Cereal (with cooked quinoa)

  1. Andrea@WellnessNotes September 12, 2009 at 9:47 pm

    Thanks for the tip to rinse the quinoa well. I just bought quinoa for the first time but haven’t made it yet! This cereal sounds good!

    • eeyoreblues27 September 13, 2009 at 12:03 am

      Thanks so much for commenting!
      I made too much quinoa a few weeks ago and was trying to find ways to use it.
      Unfortunately, the quinoa cereal I made before had stuff added to it DURING the cooking process (dried fruits, different flavorings, juice, etc). That version is really nice too because it works well in place of oatmeal, but I thought this would be a nice summer treat.

Leave a Reply

