Zen #6: Quality, Not Quantity (and a delicious summer salad)

I’ve been craving carbs. Insanely. I think it’s the long weekend–4 straight days of nothing to do but ponder how no one even cares to call me. I actually attempted to have a real conversation with a telemarketer yesterday. So, do you think your job is pathetic? Oh, no, not at all, I find the colorful array of responses quite amusing. That’s cruel.

Okay, fine, it was actually a conversation that occurred within my head because even the telemarketers are too good for me now.

It’s been a mounting problem ever since my birthday. First, I began to count calories again, then there’s the cravings, then there’s the bingeing to sooth the cravings (which all actually happened as a result of the subconscious craving to feel wanted and the fact that I looked really fat in my press badge photo).

Finally, after screaming bloody murder at my cat for scratching me, I decided to take a big black (non-permanent) marker and write “QUALITY OF KCAL, NOT QUANTITY” on my bathroom mirror. It hasn’t really worked too well, but at least I feel like I’ve addressed the problem and identified a flawless solution. Although most psychologists would consider the lack of ability to implement the solution as a debilitating flaw in it.
To them, I have simply to say, “I’m working on it!!!!!”

For example, I made quinoa yesterday. I didn’t actually do anything with the quinoa, just took a big pot and boiled it. This, however, was the first step. Honestly, how hard is it to take a pot and boil something? Of course, today, looking at the giant pot in my fridge, I thought, You cooked it (a lot of it) and it’s probably a good idea to do something with it before it goes bad.

I considered stuffed roasted red peppers or cookies or just mixing it with some splenda and cinnamon, but realized I was still to lazy for the former and the latter would be aggravating the “bingeing on carb” situation I seem to be in. Salad seemed an optimum choice, especially after recently discovering a quickly rotting mango in my fruit drawer. Mango, quinoa, what else? Beans….

"Clinging to summer" salad

"Clinging to summer" salad

Mango, Black Bean and Quinoa Salad

  • 1 ripe mango
  • Red bell pepper
  • Cucumber and/or a touch of shredded lettuce
  • Fresh mint and/or coriander
  • Quinoa
  • Black beans
  • Dressing (lime juice and ground cumin with a touch of jalapeno or something milder like yogurt mixed with a touch of cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger)

→Chop the first 4 ingredients. Add in the quinoa and beans. Mix it up. Prepare desired dressing. Dump the dressing on top and enjoy!

2 responses to “Zen #6: Quality, Not Quantity (and a delicious summer salad)

  1. lululu September 8, 2009 at 7:20 am

    yummmmmmmmm….your salad looks so refreshing! i especially like the dressing with lime juice and cumin!

    • eeyoreblues27 September 8, 2009 at 3:20 pm

      Thanks. I inadvertently made 6 cups of quinoa thinking it would force me out of my “junk food” obsession. It’s quite inspiring having grains as expensive as quinoa sitting in the fridge in danger of spoilage!

Leave a Reply

