Nutty Quinoa Cake

No, there’s no actual nuts in this. I have found, though, that if you rinse the quinoa like you’re supposed to and toast it like some people suggest, it really does taste like something that’s half way between almonds and hazelnuts.

Sorry I haven’t been posting all that much. I’ve been kind of depressed these past few days (it’s been coming on for a few weeks), so no real experimenting in the kitchen. Lots of sleeping though, which I hear tends to happen.

Anyway, here’s the recipe (I just realized all the pics I had for this came out really blurry. I guess I’ll have to figure out how to make my camera work since my phone’s finally lost it).

Nutty Quinoa Cake

Nutty Quinoa Cake

Quinoa Cake

  • 1 cup dry quinoa (rinse it in water until the water runs clear and toast it on a (non-oiled) pan over medium-high heat until it’s lightly browned)
  • 6 cups water
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 cup milk (soy-milk or fat free will do just fine)
  • 2T. powdered milk (skim/fat-free)
  • 1t. vanilla
  • 3/4 c splenda (I used about 3/4 of the 3/4c in the actual batter and then decided to sprinkle some on top)
  • 1/8t. salt

→ Simmer quinoa UNCOVERED for about 13-15 minutes on medium heat (not like pasta where you boil it). Drain.
Preheat the oven to 350 F and spray a 9″X9″ dish with cooking spray. Put the drained quinoa in the dish and spread it out evenly.
Mix the eggs, egg whites, milk, milk powder, splenda, vanilla and salt. Pour this mixture over the quinoa (you should be able to see the liquid, but not so much that it’s soupy).
For an extra little bit, I mixed some pumpkin pie spice and the rest of the splenda together and sprinkled it over the top.
Bake it for 40-50 minutes.
Enjoy.

The recipe above it the one in the picture, but I did this again a little differently. I did the same thing up until the sprinkling. I put it in the oven for 35-40 minutes. Then, I poured a wet mix that was similar to the original over the top of the dish. The new mix used chocolate soy milk and a splash of sugar-free torani syrup, with extra powdered milk and about 1/4 packet of a jello singles sf/ff pudding mix to make it a thicker consistency. I did the sprinkling (splenda with cocoa powder) and put it back in the oven for about 5-10 minutes at 300 F. It came out with a nice creamy layer between the crumb and cake. Mmmmmmm…

Leave a Reply

