Indian-style Peas and Carrots (and Lima Beans?)

This post is WAY overdue. Sorry I’ve been gone so long, but I do have a really good excuse. Finals and, um, going “home”. Generally, when I go visit my family, I don’t really cook much or do much of anything except sit around and waste a lot of time (not that watching George Lopez with my 10-year-old brother is a waste of time). SO, long story short, “wasting time” ≠ posting recipes on this blog.

I made this a week or two back when I was going through my homesick “I want Indian stuff” phase. I knew the basic recipe for Gajar Matar (Peas and Carrots) is essentially 1 bag of frozen peas and carrots + lots of dry methi (fenugreek) leaves + turmeric + salt = yummy. Now, the question is, why lima beans?

Well, that’s really just a story of culinary improvisation (and the dangers of not tasting often). I made the recipe and felt there wasn’t enough….flavor, so I began adding more spice: more methi, more tumeric and a little more salt. I tasted quite often at first but became less vigilant as I SLOWLY felt it becoming more to my tastes. At some point in this process, I went overboard on the bitter spice so I had to find another “vegetable” (or substance) to add to the mix. I opened the fridge-nothing. I opened the freezer-nothing. I thought, opened the freezer again and considered the possibility of lima beans. What the hell? How much worse could this get? was the phrase that popped into my mind. So, I opened the bag, grabbed a handful or two and dumped it in the pot.

My god! It worked! Needless to say, I felt the need to add a squirt of lemon juice to the concoction, but, then again, I feel the need to add at least a squirt of lemon juice to everything.

No lima beans in this one! (And, yes, that is a Wall-E placemat in the background)

No lima beans in this one! (And, yes, that is a Wall-E placemat in the background)

Gajar Matar + Limas

  • 1 bag of frozen peas and carrots (about 5-6 servings)
  • about a teaspoon or two turmeric
  • enough dry methi to make it look like the picture (I put about 1/2 c. (I think))
  • a sprinkle of salt
  • lemon juice (if you want)
  • about 3/8 of a small frozen bag of lima beans (maybe?)
  • 1/2t. oil

→Heat the oil over medium heat in a pan. Add the frozen peas and carrots (and lima beans, if you decide to throw them in too). Add the other ingredients, adjusting to taste. Cover and cook, stirring (and checking) frequently. Basically, you can eat it once the vegetables are defrosted and cooked through.

The end. Simple, right?

UPDATE (1/1/10): I was looking at an indian cookbook with my friend and he asked me if all the recipes checked out. I saw fenugreek in a lot of them, which I didn’t remember as being an indian spice at all. Turns out, methi is fenugreek, so, for anyone who couldn’t do this before, methi = fenugreek leaves.
Also, it might be a good idea to add a touch of sugar or splenda to this, just to play up the sweetness. But whatever you do, don’t go overboard on the turmeric.

Leave a Reply

