Channa Masala (a.k.a. “The Better Garbanzo”)

I guess this really isn’t a like-substance, but, for some odd reason, I was really craving Indian food the other day. I guess it’s partly because now I’m SUPPOSED to get 2tsp of oil a day (which is like telling a normal person they have to consume a gallon a day) and because I needed something new to do with the beans/peas I have become so suddenly obsessed with.

Well, like-substance or not, this was good. I wish I had some coriander to sprinkle on top or that I was allowed to stuff these into a big, deep-fried puri, but, alas, I went with parsley and a flax wrap. More importantly, I didn’t slave over the cooktop for hours to produce 3 meals worth of deliciousness, which is normally what I end up doing when I try something new. So, enjoy.

channa with parsley and a flax wrap

channa with parsley and a flax wrap

Channa Masala

  • 1t minced garlic
  • 1/2t ginger paste
  • 1 white onion, chopped
  • 1 medium tomato, chopped
  • 1t-2t (depending on how much flavor you want) of the following spices: garam masala (curry powder), dry cumin, and dry coriander
  • 1 14-16oz can garbanzos
  • 2-3 medium squirts of lemon juice (I used four but, then again, I suck on lemons whenever I get fresh ones)

→Heat some oil on medium heat (I used 1t but usually you can do it with about 1/2) and saute the garlic and ginger till fragrant. Add the onion and saute till lightly browned.
Add the tomatoes in with the spices and a little bit of water (it should be the consistency of pasta sauce). Cover and simmer on low-medium heat for about 2-3 minutes (or until it reaches the consistency of pasta sauce). Now you have a tardka (sp?), which is the base of most Indian “curries”.
Dump the DRAINED AND RINSED can of garbanzos into the mix. Stir a few times and cover. Simmer for 5-10 minutes COVERED.
When “chili” like, add the lemon juice, salt to taste and reduce heat to low. Leave it like that for a few minutes or a little longer but make sure it’s not simmering anymore.

There you have it. Tastes better after sitting for a day or two in the fridge.

3 responses to “Channa Masala (a.k.a. “The Better Garbanzo”)

  1. ann June 29, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    Yumm ! I love Channa masala. A great and perfect combo for rotis 🙂

  2. eeyoreblues27 June 30, 2009 at 2:42 am

    Haven’t quite mastered that art yet, but I will conquer the roti one day soon!

  3. Pingback: “Best of” Recipes « Thoughts on the Freshman 15

Leave a Reply

