Mangoes: like better bananas (and an Indian drink recipe)

A recent statistic I read somewhere stated that the U.S. population eats a startlingly large amount of bananas each year (yes, I read a lot of random (and usually pointless) “statistics” and what not), which kind of bothers me because, well, I’m not really too fond of them. Although I do think one of the doctors I know makes up for the whole lot of us that aren’t particularly fond of the fruit.

It’s not really so much that I don’t like the taste, or the texture but it’s really more of a calorie/water content thing. When I think of fruit, I think of something that is a) water in chewable form (yes, I do love to eat plain crushed ice) and b) something that is sweet and filling, with hardly any calories for the amount of fullness. Bananas, because of their starchiness, are more like bread to me and, therefore, I always considered them more of a treat than a fruit.

Enter the mango: just as sweet as the banana but more refreshing, more colorful and, unfortunately, so much more messy. Equally saddening is the fact that, while bananas are available in abundance year round for a fairly cheap price, mangoes are a much rarer commodity but most definitely worth the hunt. So, in the spirit of the hunt (or, in most cases wait), I bring you my favorite mango smoothie, straight from India.

Mango Lassi Ice Cream

Mango Lassi Ice Cream

Mango Lassi pronounced la(like the note)-si (spanish)

  • Mangoes (I used three medium ones, which gave me about 3 cups cubed)
  • 1 cup plain yogurt (I used fat-free)
  • 1/2 cup milk (I used 8th continent light soymilk)
  • sugar to taste (about 3-4 splendas) *see note*

→Put all of the ingredients in a blender and blend on high until smooth. I used my Vita-Mix so I didn’t need to do anything to get it going, but if you’re using a regular blender, you might want to puree the mangoes in a food processor first.
 

Note: The proportion of sugar/splenda can be varied according to taste. I wanted a more mango-y flavor to my drink (because I love those mangoes oh so much), but you could easily increase the sugar and use less mango. The typical Indian drink uses close to 6T sugar (depending on who’s making it). If you’re not to fond of mangoes (is it possible?), you can eliminate the mangoes all together and make plain LASSI, but that will require quite a bit of sugar.

ALSO, don’t even think about using sweetened yogurt. Part of the charm of this drink is the sweet goodness playing off of the tang of the yogurt. Dare I reference a certain frozen yogurt chain in California….

4 responses to “Mangoes: like better bananas (and an Indian drink recipe)

  1. Weight Watchers Chic July 1, 2009 at 9:34 pm

    OK.. I gotta try this one- sounds really good!

  2. eeyoreblues27 July 2, 2009 at 1:57 am

    I know. It’s so addicting!!!! Ever since my mom “sent me some mangoes from the Indian store” like two or three weeks ago, I’ve consumed about 10-15 mangoes worth!
    My favorite thing to do it stick it in the freezer and use the freeze/mix/freeze method (see the JELL(at)O recipe) to make the ice cream pictured above.

  3. jord January 14, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    it’s because bananas are cheap and mangoes are expensive

  4. Pingback: “Best of” Recipes « Thoughts on the Freshman 15

Leave a Reply

