Brownies (Or cake if you prefer)

So, this Weight Watchers core thing has really made me crave chocolate for some reason. This is odd for the following reasons:
a) I don’t usually like chocolate. I’m a vanilla or white chocolate kind of person.
b) I don’t even know what triggered the craving or when exactly it started.

Anyway, since someone told me yesterday that you really don’t lose weight on core if you use the extra “points” allowed, I’ve been really paranoid about eating non-list foods and only do it when I feel I can’t live without it. The only exception to this is bread/wraps, which I still have in moderation because they are, for me anyway, REALLY very filling.

So I went and bought some cocoa powder and, after some studying of the food list and a quick visit to Cook’s Thesaurus, I determined that something cake-like would be the best option. I also found a container of really old oat flour in my fridge when I cleaned it out for the switch last week, which I wanted to at least begin to use.

So here are the yummies!

Mmmmm Brownie

Mmmmm Brownie

Choco-Monkey Brownies

  • 1 cup oat flour (I used Bob’s)
  • 3T unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup instant nonfat dry milk (I used meijer brand)
  • 1/2t. baking soda (for cake)
  • 1/2t. guar gum (or replace 1T of the oat flour with all purpose)
  • 1T hot water
  • 2 overripe bananas (I used a really big one and a small-medium one)
  • 1 cup Splenda for baking (not the blend, just the kind that measures the same)
  • 3 large eggs (I used 1/2 cup egg substitute and one egg) 
  • 1t. vanilla

→Mix the first five ingredients together in a bowl. Set aside.
In a separate bowl, mash the bananas with the water. When they are nice and pulpy, add the splenda, followed by the eggs and then the vanilla. Make sure to mix well after each addition.
Add the other dry ingredients to the wet mixture and stir (tip: don’t stir it too much if you want cake because baking soda is quick acting so all the bubbles will come out during the stirring if you overdo it).
Bake in a well-greased 8″ square pan at 350 degrees F for about 20-25 minutes. Make sure to preheat the oven

With ingredients given, 1/8 of the pan has about 115 calories

2 responses to “Brownies (Or cake if you prefer)

  1. ann June 19, 2009 at 1:29 pm

    Browny sounds really delish:)
    thanks for visiting my blog. About the carrot halwa – You can sure use skim milk or fat free half and Half 🙂 with Stevia(It’ healthier natural sweet than artifical Zero calorie sweetner)

    • eeyoreblues27 June 20, 2009 at 12:57 am

      No problem. I actually really like your blog. It’s strange to see so many Indian recipes in one place since that’s the one ethnic food I never bothered to learn how to make (just have my mom do it for me).

Leave a Reply

