Milk Toast

Okay, I know most of my posts involve breakfasts (and protein powder), but that’s because I’m a vegetarian (on a high protein diet). Most people’s favorite meal is dinner. What am I supposed to eat for dinner…I’ll give you a hint: it rhymes with malad and involves lots of crunchy green things topped with bright orange shreds of fat-free goodness.

This isn’t to say that there aren’t some fairly delicious concoctions I can come up with for dinner, but most of those don’t happen on the spur of the moment and most of those require me to stand over the stove/counter for at least half an hour chopping vegetables and/or stirring. Not so much fun after a 12 hour day of classes and work. This is why breakfast is my absolute favorite meal (besides that whole excuse to eat sweets thing). I guess it’s more of a brunch since I don’t really start doing anything till 10ish and I don’t usually eat anything until I get back, but who cares about the labels.

Anyway, today is one of those days where I get to be lazy all day, meaning I’ll have time for a lunch and a dinner and a few snacks in-between, so I tried to come up with something a little lighter that takes awhile to eat so I could sit around and enjoy it while typing this. It’s a little like cereal and milk, but probably much healthier (depending on what type of bread you use).

Milk Toast
1. milk
2. bread of your choice (I like Aunt Millie’s Light Whole Grain)
3. protein powder (optional)
→Mix the milk and protein powder. I like to freeze it a little after this just to thicken it up, but you don’t have to. Toast the bread until it’s fairly crunchy, but not necessarily brown. Break the bread into pieces and drop it into the bowl.
See? Simple.

Leave a Reply

