Everyone’s Favorite Snap, Crackle, Pop

Since I slipped on the icy pavement the other day and hurt my back, I’ve been homebound and, my five to ten minute periods of standing have basically involved…well, cooking. I guess that’s what I get for living in Michigan: wear your snow boots-even in April.

Anyway, as I was standing in my kitchen last night, I had a nostalgic craving for something sweet and gooey that can only be attributed to my horrendous lack of inactivity these past few days. More troublesome was what the craving was for-it was those demons of the snack world, the “almost fat free” crunchy, marshmallowy bites of our childhood: Rice Krispie Treats.

Before I go on, let me make something clear: “fat free” does not equal healthy (no, “almost fat free” doesn’t equal healthy either). Again, FAT FREE DOES NOT EQUAL HEALTHY!!! I cannot stress this point enough. Before everyone runs off and dubs me as “one of those low-carbing people that believes in ingesting my own weight in saturated fat for every meal,” remember that a) I am a vegetarian and b) I am extremely fat phobic. HOWEVER, as one of my high school friends felt the need to yell into my ear, sugar equals bubbling fat. And desserts that are fat free, are basically sugar + liquid + flavoring. NOT HEALTHY.

Okay, now that I’m done ranting, let’s move on to one of sugar’s other undesirable properties-addiction. It is because of this horibbleness that snack food companies like it so much and I wanted it so much. You see, even after years of only mild sugar consumption (in the forms of fruit and other naturally occurring sugars and, yes, cereal), my desire for that taste-bud maiming sweetness was only dormant, not dead. So I had to find a relatively healthy way to satisfy it…sort of.

Stir, Crunch, Perfect Serves 16
1. 2T light buttery spread
2. 4.5 cups mini marshmallows (I like the fruity ones)
3. 4 cups either Kashi GoLean or Special K Protein Plus
4. 2 cups puffed wheat, kamut, etc cereal
→You know the drill…melt the butter, add the marshmallows and melt those too, then stir in the cereal and press into a nonstick spray coated 9X13 pan.
For a little variation, try decreasing the marshmallows and mixing in some peanut butter, then dip in melted chocolate after cutting.
Enjoy. SPARINGLY

Leave a Reply

