Peanut-buttery Chicken (or Chik’n)

Apparently, no one has any recipes they’d like redone so I can ramble on about peanut butter and fake meat without guilt.

Speaking of peanut butter, I was at Wal-Mart yesterday (yes, I shop at Wal-Mart, and, yes, I do know they’re bad for the economy and all, but they have a lot of stuff that’s hard to find in other places) and I found a new “like substance” to add to my collection. It’s called Naturally More and it tastes like Jif’s peanut butter with honey but has far less sugar and fat. Needless to say, I got a little too excited and bought 3 jars, which I realized (the moment I walked in the door) was way more than I should be eating off a spoon.

So I developed a recipe…sort of. It’s really too easy to be called a recipe, more a harmonizing of ingredients to create a meal. Quickly.

Chicken and Broccoli in Peanutty Sauce Serves 1
1. 2T peanut butter (use Naturally More…or, eh, something else)
2. 2T water
3. 1/2T soy sauce
4. 1t brown sugar or maple syrup (If you’re not obsessed with sweetness like I am and you use a sweeter peanut butter, you really don’t even need this)
5. 3/4 clove garlic or 1/2 tsp garlic powder (if you use the garlic you have to roast it first so, if you don’t cook a lot normally, you might just want to go with the powder and use a little more if it’s not garlicky enough)
6. Crushed red pepper or chili (NOT chili powder, which is actually a blend of spices that’s used to make chili)
7. 1 chicken breast (I used Quorn’s meatless chicken breasts)
8. 3oz broccoli – about 1/2 cup (thank god for spell check)
→ Mix everything except the chicken and broccoli in a small bowl
Cook chicken as you normally would (for the meatless chicken I just pop it in the microwave for a minute or two) and cut it into strips
Spray a nonstick pan with cooking spray and add the cooked chicken, the broccoli and just enough water to cover the broccoli
Put a lid over the pan and simmer (on low heat) until the broccoli is steamed
Pour the sauce in and stir (if there’s too much water left, pour some out before you put the sauce in)
Don’t eat too fast

One response to “Peanut-buttery Chicken (or Chik’n)

  1. Pingback: “Best of” (the encore edition) « Thoughts on the Freshman 15

Leave a Reply

