Aphrodisiac French Toast

 

Choco-Peanut Butter French Toast (and veggie bacon)

Choco-Peanut Butter French Toast (and veggie bacon)

My little brother loves french toast. I guess it runs in the family: when I was a kid, I would eat french toast pretty much every weekend. Mainly because it was the only thing my dad could make and he insisted on cooking for me to give my mom a break (one time my mom told him to make me a grilled cheese sandwich while she was out and he put a slice of cheese on a slice of bread and handed it to me…no need to say my mother came home to a very unhappy five-year-old). But, I digress.

The main point is that kids like french toast for a reason: it’s like a warm donut with syrup on top…nutritionally speaking. And, as one stands and makes french toast for their little sibling or niece or whatever, it is EXTREMELY hard (mind-boggling, really) to resist the aroma and sight of sugar coated bread. 

Of course, the only way to get around this problem is to create a french-toast like substance that, in fact, might end up tasting better than the original. A hard feat indeed but accomplishable, I believe, with the help of our favorite aphrodisiac…chocolate. 

(Okay, I have to admit this sounds a little more exciting that it really is. It’s really just chocolate french toast, but, come on, that’s so boring…

Chocolate (Peanut Butter) French Toast
2-3 slices light bread
1/4 c. eggbeaters (or two egg whites beaten well)
1/4 c. soy slender chocolate soymilk (I assume you could use a different brand…)
1T peanut flour or low-calorie peanut butter or pb flavored protein powder (this is optional, but if you leave it out, decrease the soymilk to 3T and add a packet of splenda. You could also replace it with any flavor protein powder)
→ Mix everything except the bread in a shallow dish until well mixed. Add the bread slices one by one, “frying” each in a PAM sprayed pan. Top with sugar-free syrup if desired (not that you’ll need it).

One response to “Aphrodisiac French Toast

  1. Pingback: Taste Test: Nature’s Pride Bread « Thoughts on the Freshman 15

Leave a Reply

