A Little Nutty

I love peanut butter. I am one of those people that sits in front of my computer reading about the salmonella scare with nothing but a jar of peanut butter and a spoon–a very large spoon. Unfortunately, I am also one of those people who is constantly on a diet in a vain attempt to reshape my body to fit society’s standards. Equally saddening is the fact that, while everyone seems to have a misconceived notion that peanut butter is “healthy,” it really isn’t (it is, after all, butter). 

Fear not! This story of peanut love has a happy ending. I realize it’s not peanut butter (exactly), but believe me when I tell you it’s much better and much more fun to eat off of a spoon. Not to mention there’s no worry over that whole salmonella thing.

Chocolate Almond Butter
2T flax seeds
1-2T cocoa powder (depending on how chocolatey you like it)
3/8c WHEY protein powder (vanilla works best in this recipe)
1/3c+1/4c wheat bran (toast it first if you can)
a few packets of splenda
1.5 cups Emerald Diamond Cocoa Roasted Almonds (get these at Sam’s Club…they’re WAY cheaper)
→ Put it all in the blender or food processor in that order and blend till it looks like really thick nutella. I have to admit it’s a little sticky and hard to spread, but at 1400 calories for the entire batch, who can complain?

One response to “A Little Nutty

  1. FlyingRabbit3 March 6, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    Sounds delicious and creative! I like your blog. It looks great!

Leave a Reply

